15 Longhorns named recipients of 2022 Dr. Gerald Lage Academic Excellence Award

Austin— The University of Texas posted an all-time academic record on Wednesday as 15 student-athletes were named recipients of the 12th annual Dr. Gerald Lage Academic Achievement Award, the Big 12 Conference’s highest academic honor. The 15 winners surpass the previous record of seven set in 2011 and tied in 2018 and 2021. Texas now has 68 all-time student-athletes receiving this prestigious honor.

This year’s winners span seven programs, with men’s swimming and diving posting the most with five (André Couchon, David Johnstone, Daniel Kruger, Charlie Scheinfeld, Matt Willenbring). Baseball (Murphy Stehly, Tristan Steven), Soccer (Derek Kerstetter, Gabriel Watson), Rowing (Katelyn Bouthillette, Katie Casey) and Soccer (Jenessa Groves, Emma Ragan) each had two recipients, while women’s swimming (Janie Boyle) and men’s athletics (Tripp Piperi) added one each.

In order to be eligible for the distinction, student-athletes must have written at least once in their career while maintaining residency at their institution for at least one academic year. The winner, who can only be recognized once, must have 100 credit hours earned with a cumulative grade point average of 3.80 at the time of nomination.

The award is in memory of Lage, who served as the Oklahoma State faculty athletics representative to the NCAA and the Big Eight/Big 12 conference from 1983 until his death in 2007. He was president three times (1985-86, 93-94 and 2003-04).

Lage had been a member of the Oklahoma State family since 1966, when he joined the College of Business Administration as an assistant professor. During his tenure at OSU, he served as director of graduate studies in the economics department (1974-77), head of the economics and finance department (1978-84), director of the OSU Center for Commerce International and Development (1985-87) and Associate Dean for Research and Graduate Programs at the College of Business Administration (1997-2004).

The names of the Dr. Gerald Lage Academic Achievement Award recipients will be featured on the video board during the Phillips 66 Big 12 Basketball Championships, scheduled for March 10-13 at T-Mobile Center and March 11-14 at the Municipal Auditorium in Kansas City. .

University of Texas student-athletes named recipients of 2019 Dr. Gerald Lage Academic Excellence Award


Murphy StehlyStrategic Communication (Graduate Certificate)

Tristan StevenStrategic Communication (Graduate Certificate)


Derek KerstetterSports Management Graduate Program

Gabriel WatsonPostgraduate courses


Katelyn BouthilletteSports Management Graduate Program

Katie CaseyMedical care


Jenessa GrovesApplied Movement Sciences

Emma RaganMarketing

Swimming and diving men

André CouchonGovernment

David JohnstoneCommunication & Management

Daniel KrugerElectrical engineering

Charlie ScheinfeldDurability studies
Matt Willenbring, Petroleum Engineering Honors

Women’s swimming and diving

Janie BoyleBiochemistry

Men’s Athletics

Tripp PiperiStrategic Communication (Graduate Certificate)

Comments are closed.