Berkoff, Douglass, A. Walsh and Gilliland Named 2022 Honda Prize Finalists

Catherine Berkoff, kate douglas, Alex Walch and Tarrin Gilliland are the four finalists for the Honda Sports Award for the Class of 2022 in Swimming and Diving, Executive Director of the Collegiate Women Sports Awards (CWSA) Chris Voelz announced Monday.

The Honda Sport Award has been presented annually by the CWSA for 46 years to honor the top female athletes in the 12 NCAA-sanctioned sports, signifying “the best of the best in collegiate athletics.” Each year’s winner also becomes a finalist for Collegiate Female Athlete of the Year as well as the 2022 Honda Cup.

Berkoff, Douglass, Walsh and Gilliland were named finalists by a panel of coaches and experts from the College Swimming Coaches Association of America (CSCAA). The winner will be announced later this week after the NCAA trustees vote (each NCAA member institution has one vote).

Douglass and Walsh, University of Virginia teammates, both swept their individual events at the 2022 NCAA Women’s Championships, with Douglass winning the 50 freestyle, 200 breaststroke and 100 butterfly, while Walsh won the 200 butterfly, 200 IM and 400 IM. . Douglass also swam on all four winning UVA relays, while Walsh was on three of them.

Douglass also set a new US Open, NCAA and American Record when she won the 50 freestyle (20.84) and 200 breaststroke (2:02.84), and added another US record in the 100 butterfly (49 ,04). Walsh swam the fastest time ever en route to winning the 200 IM (1:50.08).

NC State’s Berkoff won the national title in the 100 backstroke, setting a new US Open, American and NCAA record of 48.74. She also finished third in the 100 freestyle and seventh in the 50 freestyle.

Gilliland, a sophomore diver from Indiana University, won the women’s platform event for the second straight season and added a third-place finish in the 3-meter event and an eighth-place finish in the 1 meter test.


  • 2021 – Sarah Bacon, Minnesota
  • 2020 – Weitzeil Abbey, California
  • 2019 – Lilly King, Indiana
  • 2018 – Simone Manuel, Stanford
  • 2017 – Katie Ledecky, Stanford
  • 2016 – Kelsi Worrell (Dahlia), Louisville
  • 2015 – Missy Franklin, California

Comments are closed.