CSCAA names Gopher Trio in Top 100 of the last century


Swimming & Diving | 11/09/2021 11:54:00

MINNEAPOLIS – In conjunction with the organization’s 100th anniversary, the College Swimming & Diving Coaches Association (CSCAA) recognized three Minnesota male and female student-athletes in swimming and diving among its 100 greatest swimmers and divers of the past century.

Golden Gopher Divers Sarah bacon and Kelci Bryant were chosen from the Top 100 Greatest Swimmers and Female Divers, while the Top 100 Swimmers and Male Divers feature former swimmer Steve Jackman.

In addition to the Gopher trio, current Minnesota associate head coach Jeff Kostoff was also recognized for his remarkable career at Stanford.

Encompassing Divisions I, II and III of the NCAA and NAIA, Minnesota was one of 21 programs to have at least three combined student-athletes between the men’s and women’s rosters. Within the Big Ten, only Ohio State (10), Indiana (7) and Michigan (6) had more winners than the Gophers. Stanford led all schools with 20 student-athletes, while Texas (15) was second and Cal (13) third.

The only active athlete on the men’s or women’s roster, Bacon is currently in his sixth year of competing for the Golden Gophers. Originally from Indianapolis, Indiana, Bacon is a four-time NCAA champion in Minnesota, including three wins in the 1-yard and eight-time All-American. In addition to holding the Big Ten record in the 3-meter and the NCAA Championship record in the 1-meter, Bacon has been named, among other accolades, the 2021 Big Ten Female Athlete of the Year, the Female DI Diver. of the year 2021 of the CSCAA. and the 2021 HONDA Sport Award winner for swimming and diving.

Bryant was a two-time NCAA champion in Minnesota, winning the 3-meter in 2010 and the 1-meter in 2011, and was a two-time Olympian, winning a silver medal in the 3-meter synchronized springboard in London in 2012. Always The school’s 1-meter record holder, the Chatham, Ill. native, was a four-time All-American, four-time Big Ten champion and the 2011 CSCAA diver of the NCAA Championships.

Dubbed “the fastest man in the world,” Jackman was 11 times All-American for the Golden Gophers from 1961 to 1963, in which he won seven NCAA golds and eight Big Ten. Inducted into the University of Minnesota Aquatic Hall of Fame in 1986 and the ‘M’ Club Hall of Fame in 1991, the Rochester, Minnesota native won the NCAA title in 1961 in the 100-meter freestyle, thus setting the American record. . He also won two NCAA titles in the 50-yard freestyle in 1962 and 1963, and won two titles in those same years in the 100-yard freestyle.

Kostoff is in his third season as a member of the Minnesota coaching staff. A Stanford graduate in 1987, Kostoff won five individual NCAA titles during his career, three in the 1650 freestyle and two in the 400 IM. A two-time Olympian, Kostoff set a dozen US records and helped the Cardinal win three NCAA championships and four Pac-10 tag team titles.

According to the CSCAA, nearly three thousand athletes have been nominated, with a blue ribbon panel of current and former college swimmers, coaches and members of the media making selections from a list of 973 finalists. From there 173 swimmers and 27 divers were selected. They come from twenty-eight states and thirteen countries. Selection highlights include 12 members of the International Swimming Hall of Fame and 59 Olympians.

Founded in 1922, the College Swimming and Diving Coaches Association of America (CSCAA) is the premier national organization of college coaches. The mission of the CSCAA is to advance the sport of swimming and diving with coaches at the epicenter of leadership, advocacy and professional development.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.